top of page
  • Writer's pictureHailei Spencer

Keeping Staff Safe on Facebook



As teachers and members of staff in school, it’s essential that you keep your personal data safe online. There are numerous instances of young people finding out information about members of staff and using it against them. The safest way to stay safe is to clean your Facebook page manually and remove any content which could be used against you (sitting with a glass of wine, etc…) although you are entitled to be on social media too, so instead let’s get your Facebook Privacy locked down;


This is a guide for iOS devices (iPhone), see below for Android.


1. Open the Facebook app on your phone and log in to your account


2. Click your profile picture on the bottom right-hand corner


3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to ‘Privacy Shortcuts’

4. Click ‘Take a Privacy Check Up’

5. Click ‘Who Can See What You Share’. Once in here you’ll be guided through your settings. Change the settings to either Only Me or Friends, depending on which is most suitable for you - for instance, you may want your friends to know it’s your birthday, but you don’t want them to know the year you were born as this can raise issues with identity fraud

6. On the final page, press LIMIT on Limit Past Posts – this will apply these settings to all of your previous posts


This is a guide for Android devices


1. Open the Facebook app on your phone and log in to your account


2. Click the hamburger menu (three lines in the top right-hand corner)


3. Scroll down and click the ''Settings & privacy' dropdown menu


4. Click ‘Privacy Shortcuts’

4. Click ‘Take a Privacy Check Up’

5. Click ‘Who Can See What You Share’. Once in here you’ll be guided through your settings. Change the settings to either Only Me or Friends, depending on which is most suitable for you - for instance, you may want your friends to know it’s your birthday, but you don’t want them to know the year you were born as this can raise issues with identity fraud

6. On the final page, press LIMIT on Limit Past Posts – this will apply these settings to all of your previous posts


There are some other settings you may wish to explore whilst in here. It's important to remember, that although you have locked down your page, there is nothing stopping one of your friends being hacked and the hacker having access to the content you post, so please be mindful when posting important information.



Comments


bottom of page